Fire Testing

Fire Testing

We have recently had our Rainscreen Cladding Systems
fire tested by Warrington Fire to BS EN 130501-1 achieving A2 classification when powder coated.

Hook on

CGL Hook-on Cladding System Test Rig

fire testing

CGL Wallplank Cladding System Test Rig

warrington fire
Fire testing

CGL TrayPanel Cladding System Test Rig


European Standard EN 13501-1 provides the reaction to fire classification procedure for all products and building elements. According to this Standard, reaction to fire is the response of a product in contributing by its own decomposition to a fire to which it is exposed, under specified conditions (not to be confused with the fire resistance).

Products are considered in relation to their end use application are divided into three main categories:

  • construction products;
  • flooring;
  • linear pipe thermal insulation products (not considered here).

Construction products are classified according to harmonized test methods in Euroclasses A1, A2, B, C, D, E and F. Products classified in a given class are deemed to satisfy all the requirements of any lower class.

Products classified in A1 and A2 classes are non-combustible (cement, concrete, minerals, glass, fiberglass, rock wool, ceramic, etc.), materials certified from B to F are combustible in ascending order.

Flooring materials are classified according to the same classes A1, A2, B, C, D, E and F followed by the abbreviation “fl” flooring.

test chart

Additional classifications

All the materials classified A2, B, C, D obtain an additional classification regarding the emission of smoke and the production of fla-ming droplets and/or particles.

– “s” Smoke emission level:
values range from 1 (absent/weak) to 3 (high)
– “d” flaming Droplets and/or particles production:
values range from 0 (absent) to 2 (high)

For the E class is provided one single subclass d2.
For flooring products is provided the additional classification “s” for smoke emission only.

fire testing